Former US government road safety leader joins Johns Hopkins University

Main Image
Former National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) Administrator and National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) Board Member, Dr. Mark Rosekind.
Former National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) Administrator and National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) Board Member, Dr. Mark Rosekind.

Johns Hopkins University, home of the New Mobility Initiative supported by the FIA Foundation, has gained a prestigious appointment. Former National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) Administrator and National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) Board Member, Dr. Mark Rosekind, will serve as a Johns Hopkins Distinguished Policy Scholar.

FIA Foundation support catalysed funding from a range of sources in 2019 to stand-up the New Mobility Initiative with the goal of leading the way to a new era of road safety. The Initiative applies a public health lens to optimize the social benefit of a range of new artificial intelligence-enabled mobility modes from micro-mobility to autonomous vehicles, and implement the safe systems approach. In its first year, the Initiative facilitated the introduction of an unprecedented legislative proposal from the US House of Representatives that would imbed safe systems activity in the federal highway bill which offers more than $40 billion of federal funding annually for roadway design, construction and safety.

A world-renowned expert in transportation safety, Rosekind will share his expertise in science, government and industry with students, faculty, and the wider Johns Hopkins community, focusing on transportation safety and policy, technology, driver performance, and public health. Rosekind will continue to serve as the Chief Safety Innovation Officer at Zoox, an autonomous vehicle and on-demand mobility company which uses a proactive approach to keep all road users safe.

During his tenure at NHTSA, Rosekind led the development of the first Federal Automated Vehicle Policy, a framework for the safe design, development, testing, and deployment of automated vehicles. He also launched the Road to Zero Coalition, where the FIA Foundation proudly serves on the Steering Committee. The Coalition’s report, Road to Zero: A Plan to Eliminate Roadway Deaths, set out the strategies to end US road deaths by 2050.

“Secretary-designate Buttigieg has already supported a Vision Zero policy that when delivered nationally, will bring us closer than ever to achieving zero deaths on our roads. The New Mobility Initiative is uniquely positioned to support the new Administration in saving lives at home and abroad. Strong public health policy and research is vital to ensuring safe, equitable access to new mobility initiatives,” said Dr. Rosekind.

“Dr. Rosekind’s experience provides our students with an unparalleled understanding of the crossroads of public health and road safety,” said Shannon Frattaroli, Director of the Johns Hopkins Center for Injury Research and Policy and Associate Professor in the Department of Health Policy and Management. “His appointment will accelerate our New Mobility Initiative in shaping the future of safe mobility, with public health and equity at its core.”

“Until recently, the impact of transportation on public health had been underappreciated. In his role as policy scholar, Dr. Rosekind will engage faculty and students on issues related to transportation and health, including injuries, air quality, and as a way to access essential goods and services,” said Colleen L. Barry, PhD, MPP, Fred and Julie Soper Professor and Chair of the Department.

“We are proud to support the New Mobility Initiative and honoured to work with leaders like Dr. Rosekind and Dr. Jeff Michael, Leon S. Robertson Faculty Development Chair in Injury Prevention. While serving in the Federal government, this exceptional team led the US to strive for zero deaths on roads. At the helm of the Initiative, they will undoubtedly help the US restore leadership and engagement in global road safety,” said Natalie Draisin, North America Director and UN Representative for the FIA Foundation.

Previous Distinguished Policy Scholars include Vivek Murthy, MD, MBA, current nominee for US Surgeon General, nineteenth US Surgeon General and previous Vice Admiral of the U.S. Public Health Service Commissioned Corps; Michael Botticelli, MEd, former director of the White House Office of National Drug Control Policy; former Congressman Henry Waxman, JD, of California; and former Governor Ronnie Musgrove, JD, of Mississippi.